Thursday, August 19, 2010

Facebook Places: Even more botched security settings



Facebook Places... ugh. More security settings to mess with.

Leave this setting at your own peril. Leaving it alone lets *other* people "check-in" on your behalf. Think about it. This will let anyone (your friends by default) tell everyone else where you have been. Without your permission.

The ACLU has even gotten into the action. Check it out.

WTF.

Click Account menu (on upper right), click Privacy Settings, click on "Customize", in the "Places I check in to" drop down select "Customize", select "Only Me", under "Make this visible to / These people" select "Only Me", and finally hit "Save Settings".

But wait, that doesn't really turn it off (but wait there's more). This page describes how to control the setting for Facebook apps.

Click Account menu (on upper right), click Privacy Settings, look for "Applications and Websites" on lower left - under that click "Edit your settings", look for "Info accessible through your friends" in the middle of the page then click "Edit Settings" on this line, uncheck ... everything, but especially "Places I've Visited", finally click "Save Changes".

WTF....

Seriously....

WTF.

Why is this so complicated? Just about any security-related question you ask an end-user is the wrong one (a non-expert can't be expected to give a reasonable answer). Facebook does one better and never asks the question in the first place.

No comments:

Post a Comment